Delve Exchange Phase 2 Launch Learn more about the exciting next phase of the Delve Exchange program

Minerals and Africa’s Development The International Study Group Report on Africa’s Mineral Regimes

THIS REPORT ON Africa’s mineral development regimes was prepared by the International Study Group (ISG) established in 2007 by the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). It analyses African mining from a number of complemenary perspectives, driven by a search for new directions based on the African Mining Vision (AMV) which African leaders adopted in 2009. !e processes which led to this Report started in 2007, at the peak of the expansion in global demand and rise in the prices of minerals and metals before the onset of the global $nancial and economic crisis in 2008. Even as the surge in demand and prices fuelled the best period of growth in Africa for thirty years, the developments also provoked re#ections about the experiences of two decades of continuous expansion of mining across Africa.

Additional Info

Publication Year
Associated Partners
African Union
Publishing Institution Webpage
Research Type
Thematic Tags
Political, Certification, Due Diligence, Traceability, and Transparency, Formalization, Governance, Large-scale Mining, Supply Chains, Economic, Access to Markets, Export, Finance, Government Revenue, Income, Market Linkages, Social, Employment, Health and Safety, Human Rights, Labor and Working Conditions, Technological, Education and Training, Equipment, Extraction, Mine Life Cycle, Processing, Refining, Legal, Land Rights, Laws and Regulations, Licensing, Mineral Rights, Tax
Cassiterite, Coal, Coltan, Copper, Diamond, Gemstones, Gold, Silver, Tantalum, Tin, Tungsten, Wolframite
Middle East & North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa
Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Last Updated
July 16, 2019